Natavi

My middle name is my father’s name.
His middle name is his father’s name.
His father’s middle name was his father’s name.
And so on.
I wonder how far back.
I like names.
They are peculiar.
They mean everything.
They mean nothing.
“Gregory” is said to mean “watchful, alert”
Hmm.
“Richard” is said to mean “brave power.”
Hmm..
Apparently there was a king
King Richard I the Lionheart
“Lionheart” is my Kerrname
Given to me by my Kerrsister “Fizgig”
and brother Nick
Hmm…

Natavi.
NaNaNatavi
NaNaNatavi
NaNaNatavi

Natavi

This name
was unveiled
in my heart
almost 3 years ago
on a hardwood floor
in my apartment in Brooklyn
the apartment that had been broken
into
fuck
that sucked
and
was
what i needed
took everything
but the guitar
oh
okay
I’m good

Hmmmm…

Broken
into
I was broken into
Broken open
waters flooded the chasms
I watched
I listened
I surrendered

Music is love
Music is medicine
Music is story
Music is the cosmos

It flowed
not like honey
like torrents
of water
rough
rapids
rushing

NaNa
Natavi
NaNa
Natavi
NaNa
Natavi

The music baptized me

I googled natavi

“first person singular perfect active indicative of latin verb nato”

I googled nato

“1.I swim, I float
2.I stream, I flow”

Gregory Richard Raymond Lionheart Natavi

names are peculiar things
so important
and of no importance at all

I carry the blood
I carry the names
I flow
like water

the song in my head
in my heart
“sitting on the steps of the temple of saturn
divine revelations of an overarching pattern
constructs of reality limited all gone and shattered
my momma gone think that I’ve become the mad hatter
but oh
if this is a lost mind
then throw me in the bin
expel me from a realm in which expansion is a sin
I ain’t choose the path but I’d sure walk it again and again and again
alpha omega the beginning and the end”

ah yes.
i remember
me
here
now
awake
alive
watchful
alert
brave
powerful
flowing
streaming

solstice
and christmas
and New Years
so much honoring
of a time of death
and rebirth
ending
and beginning
new life
open fields

i am well
and a bit tired
and much enthusized

Leave a Reply

