On the road again…

Sitting in a rest stop today, somewhere about smack dab in the middle of Kansas, drinking a cup of coffee.
“Hey man, that your van?”
Gypsy nomad man about my age. One dread. Walking stick. Pack.
“Where ya goin’?”
“Colorado.”
“Could you give me and my road dog a ride? I’m trying to get to Colorado actually.”

As the three of us, Jamie, his road dog Brady (human road dog, not canine), ride along the long open stretch that is I-70, we quickly find ourselves “cut from the same fabric.” The next 5 hours are filled with conversation
Culture
Counterculture
Dharma
Stuff
Psychedelics
Family
Road stories
Song
Dijeridoo
Circular breathing
Mountain living
Hitchhiking
Money
Barter
Work for work
Peace
War
Authority
Police
Vibration
Frequency
Kerrville
Rainbow Family
Mt. Shasta
Plant medicine
Mysticism
Shamanism
Road stink
Water
Tobacco
Tobacco-appearing substances
Synthetics
Gifts
Pilot gloves
Fathers
Mothers
Tattoos
Lightning
Death
Roadkill
Hunting
Plants
Costa Rica
Simplicity
Freedom
Mentorship
Beginner’s luck
Divine encouragement
Ninja-peeing
Ninja-pooping
San Francisco
Golden Gate Park
Pacific Ocean
Ocean
Love
Curvature of the earth
Mother
Big Sur
Redwoods
Mountain lions
Bears
Columbia, Missouri
Adoption
Abandonment
Impermanency
Road mamas

As we approached Colorado Springs, I called Skye to ask where I should drop them off. I am stopping in Colorado Springs briefly to surprise my family here and get to meet my two very new twin nieces. I will be here less than 48 hours before carrying on to California. My new road dogs were going to join me to CA after my 36 hours with family, and until then they were going to go find a couch or urban camp.
“Manitou Springs. Right next to the Mate Factory. That is the place for gypsy traveling vagabond wandering tribespeople.”
Of course.
Parked on the park next to the Mate shop, we curtain up the van and sit in circle and prepare and pass a pipe. A mantra given to Jamie in the dreamworld is shared, taught, and chanted. The singing bowl my sister gifted me on Christmas is played. Silence is sat in. Space is held.
My mind is cleared.
My heart speaks.
“I have a gift to offer from my father.”
When I set off from the East coast, my father told me he would like to offer to pay for a hotel room for a night or two if needed on my journey westward. I thanked him. The man has given me so much. He would give anything. He does. I was not going to decline it if I felt I needed it, but I certainly was not going to use that gift unless I really needed it. And although it is sure getting cold at night, it is not below freezing, so a hotel room is not a necessity for me yet. I was not planning to use the gift.
And sitting in that circle of brotherhood, it was clear why the gift was given to me. To share.
What a gift, to me, to my brothers Jamie and Brady, to my father, to be able to offer a warm place to sleep and a warm shower to some travelers who may not need it, but sure do appreciate it.
Spiral handshake.
Motel hotel.
Avocado
Vegan cookies
Flax seed chips
Almond milk
Showers
Guitar
Warmth
Beds

I am writing this in bed. I am so very grateful for this moment. I am also very excited for the morning. It will surely be the best morning in the entire world. I have a Skype date with my cousin and my nephew and 3 nieces at 9am. I will instead be ringing their doorbell at 9am. My heart is so in love with a life that looks like this. So much more than I could have ever asked for or gone out and demanded from life. Offered so generously as I continue to surrender deeper.
Go
with
the
flow
it is here
it will carry
promise
needs always met
not wants
but who cares about wants
those are checked at the thresholds
to make room
for the abundance to RUSH IN

(due to the stealth nature of my surprise family love attack, this was posted the following day, and I can now safely and officially vouch that yes, this morning was the best morning in the entire world)

meeting my newest nieces
meeting my newest nieces

1451444_10153463119865506_1780379102_n 1456025_10153463119710506_2041500371_n

Mango time!
Mango time!
Peter Plum
Peter Plum
pepitas
pepitas
tribe jam
tribe jam
tribe jam
tribe jam
more triangle!
more triangle!
taking over the van
taking over the van
the van has been Emma-fied
the van has been Emma-fied
this woman amazes me
this woman amazes me

Leave a Reply

